TLW Update!

First of all, I’m sorry I missed this morning and last night. Trystan came over and then we got up late but saw the Avengers. The Avengers, I must say, was AWESOME. It was hilarious, packed with action, not much romance, and all the characters had distinct personalities. It was genius.

Secondly, happy Mother’s Day! I hope you thanked your mommies for all the wonderful things they do for us daily! A particular thank you to my mom for: always understanding the importance of having my friends over, giving me hugs, teaching me valuable life lessons, and mostly for always loving me no matter what. I’ll try to return all those favors whenever I can! I love you Mom! 

Thirdly, I have a little update on my story, The Locked World. (I forgot to do this last time, but I apologize for the cuss word and crude language in that first part! I changed the beginning a bit, but I just wrote the next part out of what I felt would happen. It’s a ROUGH DRAFT, keep that in mind. This is definitely not my finished work. =_=” If it was, I’d be EXTREMELY embarrassed. Here ya are!

Sayonara!

-Cleo

***

It was early morning. I had risen before the others, as was usual. My twin brother, Davis, lay stretched across our floor. I sighed and delicately stepped around his snoring body. Cecelia was the only one I could count on to be awake, but she was no help. She only got up to wash her hair and be presentable before her younger brother, Mickey, and us- her cousins. As I creaked the old, battered door to our bedroom open something dashed by the window. I was tense quickly and gripped my trusty butcher’s firmly.

            Someone groaned beyond the couch in our living room. I tip-toed over and snuck my eyes above the back of the sofa. It was only Mick, dreaming heavily in his mass of blankets. Grinning, I grabbed the binoculars from the kitchen table, right where they were supposed to be. My head popped out the front door as I stepped onto the cement, square foot ledge cautiously. My eyes, now hidden behind the green glass and black plastic, glided from side to side in search of prey. I had to find something, I had to! It was an important day.

***

I ran, dashing madly over fallen logs and startling the Screechers. I tripped over a root in my flurry. Tumbling down I went, knocking into trunks and branches, and occasionally a Screecher nest. The ground whirred below me and the color of my dark green shorts blended well with the damp dirt. Finally, my feet were pushed up against the largest tree, Watcher. Our tower was above.

It was something Davis and Mickey had constructed out of our firewood and nailed together with the bathrooms’ door hinges. In retrospect, it was their fault we froze that winter and everyone’s asses were chilly whenever we took a dump. Cecelia and I were definitely unhappy when one of them stumbled down the halls in the middle of our relief and the others were evenly embarrassed vice versa.

But that morning, I couldn’t afford to be slowed down and smile over silly memories. I pulled myself up with the lowest branch and sighed as I examined the cuts on my legs. None were serious but they’d all come stinging back tomorrow. Actually, I was only glad that my knife had fallen off my belt loop before it chopped one of my limbs off. I dragged my bruised self up the hill until I saw its metallic gleam on the horizon.

As I went around Watcher, I eyed my favorite spot longingly. That fourth, sturdy branch from the top looked so pleasant in the morning. I sighed as I remembered how clear everything could be from that high, especially the tips of Society Three’s chimneys. I shook my head. No time for dawdling! I was getting my priorities straight. My head was muddled and grey like murky pond water. Nothing I envisioned was ever clear and it was easy to be distracted. At least, on Greyside Mountain it was.

***

The sunlight shimmied over the peaks of Society Three, shaking itself over the unpleasant bleak matter. The hunt was on! The forest was stirring and life was beginning to emerge. I had to act quickly or all the good game would have disappeared. The pine smell was comforting as well as exciting. It reminded me of home and the wondrous, deadly chase I played with the creatures so early. The smell of iron would be intoxicating- so pleasant and hardy, but tender and warm. My mouth watered with the almost-feel of meat and its smoky scent.

I was off topic again.

Focus, Desiree, or I’ll give all your meat to Cece, my inner voice threatened. I scowled inward. That’s not fair! I argued, but the voice would have nothing of it. I always knew what was best for me, but everything was urgent that day. I scurried along, imagining myself as a wild cat, like a panther, or tiger. I clambered up trees and hid in the branches. It felt so secretive and genius that I could have been a slinking puma. While eyeballing a small, blue Screecher, I heard the crackle of leaves behind me but paid it no attention. As long as it didn’t spring on my kill first, I wouldn’t have a problem. Suddenly in a whisk, the Screecher vanished. I jumped back, startled, and said to myself in a whisper, “Where did you go, breakfast?”

Snake-like, I wrapped my arms and legs around the branch and looked forward. Everything was silent. It was worse than the roar of lions mixed with Mickey’s crying. Where was the audio, the forest noises?

“Tryin’ to catch my bird, eh?” came a loud, booming voice. I shrieked and flopped to the ground floor. The air was knocked out of me flat just like that. I leaned up on my elbows to encounter Davis, fully awake with his bow and arrows strapped tightly over his chest. I frowned and snarled at my brother, hoping he’d get the message. Of course, being Davis, he didn’t understand anything my hostility meant.

He leapt beside me, his black hair flashing dark blue in the light. He giggled and stuck his plump pink tongue at me. Before he could hock a loogie, I pinched his freckled nose and leaned up in a crouch. I glared at him and hissed, “That. Was. My. Kill.”

Davis laughed, yanked free, and joyfully jumped from tree to tree until he swung off the edge of the shortest cliff. He always managed to escape my grasp. It was frustrating. I was competitive and older by like three hours yet he still beat me at almost everything. My skills had passed him long ago in math and science while he constantly crushed my stick figures with artful charcoal drawings and scenery. I sighed and smashed my eyebrows together in a forceful crease.

“Davis!” I yelled, “We have to go back in an hour! Cece and Mickey will be awake!” I retrieved no answer from him in the distance, so I shouted even louder a second time. He grumbled, “I heard ya, I heard ya.” Leaves fell to the ground as he continued with his play on the horizon. “Davis,” I teased, “if you don’t come in the next five seconds, I’ll feed your breakfast to Hound.” He froze for a moment, waited for me to begin the countdown, and trampled up the slope.

Poor Hound, I thought, all he ever gets are scraps of Screechers. He deserves Davis’s meal. Screechers, small plump birds with the most irritating and obnoxious noises, beady eyes, and fangs hidden within their beaks, could only keep his hunger away for an hour; two at the most.

Davis grinned and dashed for me after tossing his bow and arrows to the ground. We toppled to the ground in a laughing heap, trying to wrestle the other underneath us. Sticks and twigs snapped with our weight while the larger pebbles and stones pressed roughly into our backs. Finally, he managed to pin me. “How’re you gonna throw away my food now?” Davis taunted. I growled and tossed him off me. With an effective slap, I snarled, “Don’t ever try to beat me again!”

He shouted, “Hey! I was just kidding around! Ugh, what gets into you?!” Before I could yell something snide at him, we heard a distinct roar. With a quick nod, we picked ourselves up off the ground and dashed away. If we were going to find something good for the big day, the time would be now. Our hair glinted in the sunlight and shined a dark blue. Why did we have to match? I wondered to myself. I was so different from Davis. Even if we were twins, we were nothing alike.

We tumbled speedily down the mountain’s face. Our legs tumbled under us as if our torsos were ahead of the lower half. The roar sounded again. “Davis!” I yelled over the rush of the wind. He glanced in my direction every few steps. I whistled sharply four times. It was a signal only he would understand; my brother was my hunting partner, my friend, opponent, and the other half of myself. He could comprehend any motion I might make, whether I thought about it or not. The hill became a rough blur. Davis wasn’t moving fast enough! My shrill whistles rang through the trees again. A flock of Screechers flew up into the gusts of wind and avoided us, the noisy intruders.

The trees were approaching! What would we do if Davis were too late? It wasn’t as if this hadn’t occurred to us before, but we relied on this plan so steadily. Over the course of time, we had gently forgotten our back up maneuvers. With each passing week the ideas faded farther and farther into the black. This had to work! It had to! Davis was speeding up while I slowed. It wouldn’t do if I caught up to him. He bent over and ran in thumping motions. His knees pounded harshly into his stomach. He couldn’t take that much longer. With one large leap, I shoved myself through the air. I landed matter-of-factly on his back and we continued on, piggy back style.

We ran this way for at least twenty more minutes, continuing in the direction of the bellows. I snatched Screecher after Screecher from their nests, feeling the rush of a thief. “Almost there!” I screamed in Davis’s ear. He whooped back to me, excited to finally begin the last hunt.

At last we made it. A large clearing emerged in front of us with a rush of brightness. The shade we’d been through in the forest was so bleak compared to the stunning light here. A bear, tall and proud, wailed before us. It was a type of genetic mutation; that was obvious. The fur color was almost green, the paws were smaller and the claws longer, and the ears were too tall and hare like. “Scientists again…” Davis grumbled.

“Left, and right?” I asked. Davis said hurriedly, “Good enough for me.” We swung into action! I charged into its face, slashing carelessly ever which way. The creature stumbled back but I was on the top of my game that morning. I only landed one cut across its face, which was enough to hear a roar let loose powerful enough to tremble. Davis hung back in the trees, waiting for the perfect opportunity to strike. I knew he’d be getting frustrated; I was blocking his shots. Finally, I took the matter seriously. I’d been enjoying myself and wasting precious minutes. Without a second to spare, I leapt upon the animal’s head. He romped through the clearing and attempted to shake me off.

I managed to wrangled myself onto its back. The poor thing bucked and reared. I felt almost bad for killing it. Almost. If I didn’t take it down, it would more than likely die slowly and in a much more excruciating way.  I swung into the back of the monster with my knife. It stood on its hind legs, prepared to end me. Using the fur of his neck like a steering wheel, I spun his face towards Davis.

The animal dropped, cold and lifeless. Davis never missed a shot, ever. As it had fallen on its back, the creature had squashed me. With the overpowering smell of iron, I shoved him off. Most of his fur was covered in a stiffening layer of blood, but it wouldn’t matter once Mickey and Davis skinned him. Cecelia could relax for the moment. It was her special day, after all. Davis circled the bear warily, checking for any indication that it could be alive.

“Dave, it’s dead. You’ve only left animals alive when you meant to. This one was a goner,” I said obviously. Davis turned with a cold stare, challenging me to say anything else. Something was off. I felt a nervous gush in the pit of my stomach as I realized something’d changed about my bro.

I whispered, “Davis? What’s…what’s going on?” He spun on his heels, leaving me clueless. With his head held high, he said blankly, “You can carry the body back. Mickey needs to learn how to get rid of its fur alone. Just leave him to it. I’ll be back soon, I promise.”

Without waiting for an answer, I watched his raggedy, dirt smeared back run south of our home. In a tsunami of rage, my frustration overpowered my curiosity. “Where are you GOING, idiot?!” I shouted into the silence. Being helpless made me even more furious. I couldn’t stop him, make him go, or leave Davis without support. Not being able to control what was happening around hurt my pride deeply.

If I couldn’t solve everything myself, then who was I helping? No one, came my inner voice. I kicked at the dusty ground angrily. A pale brown cloud of dirt flew around me. I hacked. Well, I decided, if we have anything to do, it’s to get this back to Cece and Mickey. Let’s get a move on!

It took all of my body strength to haul the creature half a mile away from the messy spot it’d died in. I couldn’t do it without Davis’s help. We were a team. Working alone never worked for us! I recalled moments of our childhood where we supported the other; when we argued with adults, attempted to fix toys, or couldn’t finish our dinner. It had all worked out for the best if we did it together.

By Fabio

8 comments on “TLW Update!

  1. I haven’t seen The Avengers yet, and although I rarely see movies in theatres unless they’re, like, Harry Potter or The Hunger Games or something, I’m hoping to see this one because Joss Whedon directed it. I lovelovelove Joss Whedon. Also, your writing talent is incredible. =D

You Have Something To Say?

